I find myself near a field of swans

I’ve not had much time to take pictures, or write about my days here in the outback that is rural Brabant. I’m having too much of a good time relaxing and spending time with my family to actually think about things like this. There are things that I think I should be remembering to write about but in this state I forget to take these things down.

Wednesday I spent my day travelling from the port to my family’s house, from there to Oss to see what has changed since I was last there, and to Eindhoven to see my friend Frans and to attend the Ill Nino gig in the Effenaar. After that, we went to The Rambler for some after-gig drinks and chats with old and new friends till about 4 o’clock in the morning.

The new county council building in Oss

We didn’t get back to Frans’ place until quite a bit later, had a ham and cheese tosti to quench our hunger and finally went to bed around 4.45 or 5.00. My alarm went off 3 hours later, as I had to haste to Oss to get a lift back to my family’s place. Needless to say, I spent the rest of that day taking it easy..

Yesterday was another relaxed day of spending time with the family, a Burger King brunch, and a night of Hertog Jan beer with Vera in Oss. Even though it seems that this time, I am here for a reasonable enough amount of time to see my friends and family, I still feel like I could do with a few extra days!

Friday afternoon

This morning I watched my little cousin pass his swimming exams. On our way back to the house for some celebratory cake and coffee, we drove past a huge green field, covered in white swans. I’ve never seen anything remotely like that and I wonder why there were all there. Unfortunately I didn’t think to take any pictures, but the sight was amazing.

In a few moments, we’ll be off to Eindhoven for our family ‘day’ which will be a BBQ and a surprise activity which will take place in the dark.. I’m excited to find out what it is!

Chrisje x

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

