Last day of holiday

I hoped it would never come, but unfortunately, there she is: the last day of my annual leave. I was so sure this holiday would keep going forever, these magical 2 weeks, or in work terms ’70 hours’, my long awaited rest, my treasure chest. I think you understand by now that I really needed this holiday.

The self pitying part in me says I haven’t had two weeks off. I’ve been ill since last Saturday, so in a way this could be regarded as partially true, although it’s better to be ill in my own time to avoid any hassle. So today is the last day before I have to return to work, to long hours, little sleep and lots of stress. I’ve tried to make this final day ‘the’ day of all holidays. Obviously I failed.

As I’m a list person, see here the list of my plans for today:

  • Plan 1: go to London, to Mayfair, to get myself a nice box of macarons, to stroll over the South Bank, to take some pictures and really enjoy myself.
  • Plan 2: go to Chelmsford, to go out shopping for clothes and Lush things and sweets.
  • Plan 3: be all home-y and make tonight’s dinner in advance, make bread, bake a cake and enjoy the smells of the house.
  • Plan 4: go out to town to get ingredients for a smashing ‘final’ lunch with the boyfriend.

At this point I’m not too fond of my lists any more because none of these plans were actioned. On the bright side,Β I planned a trip to Paris with my little sister Carmen, whom I’ve finally managed to convince to come with me and rent out an apartment for a week. This might bright up my sombre days until the summer’s arrived!

A picture of the apartment we've picked

It’s only a simple studio flat, but it’s not too expensive in off-peak season and it provides us with endless possibilities of what to do and where to go in the week we’re there. It’s also one Eurostar train away from London, so it’s a fast holiday option with maximum impact πŸ™‚ I’m already so excited, and that’s only because of the apartment! Who knows what might overcome me when we start thinking about the shopping and the macarons! I can’t wait!

xx Chrisje

    • claud
    • February 24th, 2010

    lol! Dat cake idee van mij had je zelf dus ook al bedacht πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› Geeft niks, betekend alleen dat t een goeie inschatting was.
    Zuur is dat toch altijd he, dat je ziek wordt wanneer je tot rust komt. Goeie les die je daaruit kunt trekken is; vaker een los dagje rust nemen of een rustmomentje inbouwen iedere dag. En goed naar je lijf blijven luisteren! Niet altijd maar doorgaan tot het echt genoeg is geweest πŸ™‚

    • claud
    • February 24th, 2010

    Had ik het toch goed gezien!!!
    Ik had het stukje gelezen, en ik ging verder kijken op je blog, kom ik terug op deze pagina, zie ik ineens een heel stuk extra eraan hangen! Ik vroeg me al af of ik gek/blind was geworden of mijn computer weer kuren had, maar blijkbaar dus geen van beiden hihi! πŸ˜‰
    Wat leuk dat je een tripje naar Parijs gepland hebt staan! Volgens mij is het een heel goed idee om een appartementje te huren en vanuit daar lekker te gaan verkennen. Ga je weer foto’s maken daar? Of wil Carmen shoppen? πŸ˜‰ Het zal vast wel een combinatie van beide worden, is het niet?

  1. I’m going to Paris too, soon! Exciting πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

