5 steps to beautiful landscape photography

Picture by Lee Massingham

1. Observe

When you’re outside, take any opportunity to observe your surroundings. Look for places that you think might make a good or interesting picture. Also, don’t shy away from the obvious. You might not want to go for the cliché, however this can provide a good practise for later projects.

2. Plan ahead

Now that you have your ideal location, plan out your picture. Not only should you plan for the objects that you wish to include, but on a more technical side, think about perspective, lighting, timing and the weather.
It might also be wise to plan out what you don’t want to include in the picture.

3. Be prepared

This goes without saying. I personally always have either a camera or my phone with me, in case I come across something beautiful. If you specifically go out to take pictures, do not forget to include an extra set of batteries, and possibly a notepad to make useful notes for future reference.

4. Be patient

Especially with outdoor photography, you’re pretty much dependent of the weather. In this case you might want to consider other locations or projects on the side.

5. Be realistic

You might not get the perfect picture with your first shot. This is why I always take multiple pictures, from different angles, with different perspectives and lightings, to save myself the disappointment if I see my pictures haven’t turned out the way I wanted. You might even end up with a better picture, or at least some inspiration for the next set.

  1. Do not go out with any preconceived expectations! Let the environment and weather tell you what is of value. Try and forget the equipment. It’s a barrier to seeing freely! Sometimes, it’s better just to go out for a walk and take the camera along on the off-chance. Finally, break the rules of photography as often as you want and enjoy the freedom it gives you. A poor picture for one person is an expressive image for someone else. There are no right and wrong answers, so long as you are asking the questions.

    • I’m not sure if I should take this as criticism or praise, as it looks a bit like both. It seems to emphasise and contradict what I’ve said. But then again, I’m not a professional.

      What you said, though, is what they tried to teach me in art school. Create your own freedom. Very motivating indeed.

      I very much like the panoramas on your portfolio; it’s something I’ve always wanted to try but never have been able to do.

      Thank you for your comment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

