My Paris

“Une femme sans amour, c’est comme une fleur sans soleil, ça dépérit.” -from Amelie

I was 15 years old when I took this picture. My first time in Paris, I was scared of the metro, scared of the people, scared of the smells. I had had 2 years of French classes at that point, and I could make myself clear when the need would arise, but this was different. I had seen other sight-seeing attractions, but they seemed to not make an impact whatsoever.

Then, when I walked through this little dark alley, taking in the merchant’s stands, the Jewish shops, the chitter chatter, this massive white shape arose, and seemed to push away the darkness. I was astounded. I couldn’t believe that everyone shrugged at this, for lack of words, beast of a building, this beauty, taking it for granted!

I took this picture, hoping it would capture a piece of myself. That, when I would look at it later in life, I would remember what it felt like to first lay eyes on the Sacre Coeur. Even though I have never been back to see it, after that one time, it is still my favourite building, my favourite place in the world.

Many more pictures I took that day. I have pictures where she stands out between the green grass, the flowers in bloom, a blue spotless sky. I bought drawings, postcards, photographs, anything I could lay my hands on. But this picture has captured the essence of that first visit for me. This is what made me fall in love with Paris, with life.

I hope to return soon, something I’ve been saying for years, just to take some pictures, to stroll around carelessly. Until then, I’ll just have to make do with Amelie 🙂

xx Chrisje

  1. cant believe parisians take this for granted.
    its stunning

  2. Love it. I love taking pictures that describe such an important moment in time. Then, when looked at again–even if it’s 20 years from now, you can still feel the exact emotion you felt at that time. It’s a great feeling.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

